Stay LIVE at Home

Home Performance no.67

Duncan Hume

Three Rooms: The Trilogy / Tatami Room

WHAT: Lockdown has forced different forms of interiority on us: limited mobility, social distance, increased dependence on virtual connectivity and entertainment; moreover, it has forced us to cook! The reduced financial possibilities of this era have seemingly sunk the world of commerce. A time of anxiety to be sure, yet also a time for potentially radical change. “Three Rooms” takes inspiration from Viennese ‘Gschnas’ – the theatrical transformation of commonplace items into fantastical props, which Freud compared to the mechanism of dreams, and the recent ASMR YouTube phenomenon, which foregrounds repetitive actions, involving aural stimuli that provoke a tingling response. ‘Three Rooms’ playfully yet poignantly tempts the interior of the performer’s home with the implied oneiric aspect of the carnivalesque and the mesmeric intimacy of autonomous sensory meridian response.

Room 3 – Tatami kept this simple with a glimpse of lung x-ray behind and a slight sense of rot. Japanese horror movies with malevolent domestic spaces spring to the mind – such as “Dark Water”. Tatami rooms are usually about light and purity but this seems more about disease and shadow.

WHEN: Live – 04.07.2020 – 11:00 am – 4:00 pm GMT+3 (Turkey)  05:00 – 10:00 pm GMT+9 (Japan) Estimated duration: 5 hours

05.07.2020 – 11:00 am – 2:00 pm GMT+3 (Turkey)  05:00 – 8:00 pm GMT+9 (Japan) Estimated duration: 3 hours

WHERE: Vimeo – D Whom – https://vimeo.com/433986144

04.07.2020
05.07.2020